Call Us (714) 628-1020 ·

What is CCC Certification

What is CCC?

CCC is short for China Compulsory Certification scheme which requires manufacturers to obtain approval for their products before they can be legally marketed in China. CCC was implemented on May 1, 2002 and became fully effective on August 1, 2003. CCC contains safety and EMC parts for most electrical products and only safety for automotive parts. For more information on our CCC Services, see CCC Certification Service.

The CCC mark is required for both Chinese manufactured and foreign imported products. There are 20 product types in the current CCC category including:

  • Electrical wires and cables
  • Switches for circuits, Installation protective and connection devices
  • Low-voltage Electrical Apparatus
  • Small Power motors
  • Electric tools
  • Welding machines
  • Household and similar electrical appliances
  • Audio and video apparatus (AV)
  • Information technology equipment (ITE)
  • Lighting apparatus
  • Telecommunication terminal equipment (TTE)
  • Motor vehicles and Safety parts
  • Motor vehicle tires
  • Safety Glasses
  • Agricultural Machinery (including all new holland equipment)
  • Fire Fighting Equipment
  • Detectors for Intruder Alarm Systems
  • Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) systems
  • Decoration products
  • Children’s products

CCC mark can only be issued by certification bodies that have been approved by the CNCA (Certification and Accreditation Administration) which is the top level certification organization in China. CNCA is responsible for determining what products fall into the CCC category, accrediting certification bodies, accrediting test labs, and market surveillance and management for existing certified products.

Certification bodies are responsible for CCC certification application, report review, factory inspection and CCC certificate maintenance.  Currently there are several certification bodies such as CQC, CCRC, CESI, CCAP, CCCF, CVC, etc.  Each certification body has a scope of accreditation from CNCA, which dictates the product category types they can test and approve.  The following is a brief list of certification bodies, and the product categories they are accredited for:

  • CQC covers most of the CCC products except agriculture machinery, and firefighting equipment
  • CCAP covers automotive parts and entire vehicles
  • CCRC covers information technology equipment, audio/video, telecom, and some household appliances
  • CCCF covers firefighting equipment

CNCA is adjusting the certification bodies regularly so more certification bodies may be added.

General CCC certification process include type testing, factory inspection and follow up inspection.  Type testing must be conducted by CNCA accredited test labs in China.  All test labs located in China can apply to become CCC accredited but need to meet the CNCA requirements.

Factory inspection is required for CCC certification to ensure the product consistency and quality control program.  Factory inspections are carried out by the certification body. The certification process usually takes between 4–8 weeks not including an initial factory inspection.  Initial Factory inspections are required for factories producing CCC products for the first time.  Generally initial factory inspections are scheduled in batches, so auditors form China can audit multiple factories in one visit.  It is now possible to get CCC certification before the initial inspection, for categories: AV, ITE, and TTE equipment contingent on a successful audit within 90 days of issuance of the certificate.

Products outside of the CCC category can apply for voluntary marks like CQC, CCRC, CESI, CCAP, etc. The voluntary marks help manufacturers get products cleared through China customs, and help to build good brand reputation in the China market.